Exercise

I lost 12 pounds in the past 4 months because of the "no grains" diet I was on. Now that my endocrinologist has taken me off of it and put me on Metformin, I don't want to gain the weight back.

A little background here:

I'm a college student, and I walk a mile each way to school, take the stairs when I can (usually down, because I can't do up), and campus is huge so I walk a lot in general.

I have a breathing problem, which greatly impacts my ability to exercise. I also have another issue, most likely joint/nerve/muscle, which mostly impacts my ability to exercise because of the joint problems. I started on an elliptical a few weeks ago, had to switch because of ankle issues, went to the treadmill, which I had to stop because of knee and ankle problems. I also tried a bike, which bothered my knees.

I don't know what other kinds of exercise I could really do, other than weight lifting, which I imagine will be hard on my other joints. It seems like everything I do becomes an issue with one of my undiagnosed (not for lack of trying) health problems. Even walking four miles per day (at minimum) to and from school is a problem, I just can't handle the thought of taking the bus because my health is limiting me.

Does anyone here have any experience with exercise that will help me continue to lose weight but not put any undue stress on my joints or lungs?

oh,I am sorry I did not see you are a female, definitely get a check for RA. Women have about 70% of the RA cases in the US. It is worth a look see just to see.

I don't have any joint swelling, and the nerve and muscle issues aren't indicative of RA. Honestly, it sounds more like Lupus (which can cause breathing problems) or Lyme Disease or something else along those lines. I've been tested for everything under the sun, including RA, Lupus, Lyme, Fibromyalgia, etc. I think I'm just one of those people who eludes diagnoses. (I am seeing a rheumatologist on Monday, but I'm not expecting anything from that.)