Figuring it all out

I was diagnosed with T2 about 10 years ago and went into such denial it wasn’t funny. I felt fine, had energy galore and was working fulltime. I took the oral meds like I was supposed to, cut back on what I was eating but that was it. I work in healthcare so I know better, I see the complications of diabetes every day but was SURE none of that had anything to do with ME! Here I am 10 years later and no longer in denial. I recently had a TIA. The combination of T2, high blood pressure and working 65 hours weekly finally caught up with me and boom, TIA. I have no residuals from it and feel perfectly fine but I know I have to make changes in my life. My A1C back in March was over 13 and now, it’s down to 9. I feel like I’m making progress but not fast enough. I have lost a lot of weight but I have to lose more. I’m working on eating the right things and found this site in the hopes to talk with others going through this too. I am finding that I’m really hungry between meals and having go to snacks to get me through. I’ve cut back on the work too. I welcome thoughts and support as many days, I feel alone in my efforts. Thank you for reading.

2 Likes

@Ladybelle first of all, welcome home!!! We are so glad you found a soft place to land. Job well done on reducing your A1c. You’re on the right track. Although I cannot take credit for this quote, we use it quite often here…diabetes is a marathon not a sprint. You have made several strides in the right direction.

As for being hungry in between meals, go for low carb options that will keep your bg stable. I’m a huge fan of pork rinds. Several of us here opt for nuts, cheese, or low carb veggies with a full fat salad dressing like ranch. Please check out our recipes forum. We have so many creative ideas to help you get through the hunger pangs.