First Entry: The Night Before

So this is my first blog entry here. I hope to keep it up, I am usually no good at that, but I will try this time. So tomorrow I go to the doctor to get tested AGAIN to see if I have diabetes. When my mom was diagnosed I was in high school and since so many other family members have it I was tested a lot then. Once I got to college and away from my regular doctor getting tested just kind of fell away. I didn’t feel like I had it and I was pretty active. I graduated from college in 2006 and started my first job. I was working 40+ hours a week- something I was not at all used to- and making extra efforts to spend time with my boyfriend, Matt. I hated my job and started eating a lot of junk food to feel better and quit exercising compleatley. When I quit work in July a year ago I started exercising again. I noticed that when I would exercise I would get a tingling feeling in my toes. I ignored it thinking it must be my shoes or something. I then started noticing that my whole foot would tingle. Again, chalked it up to the shoes. One day at the end of last July I was getting everything in order for graduate school when my vision went compleatley super blurry. It has always been slightly blurry. As a child I read A LOT and would sneek books at night with little to no light so I ended up needing glasses in high school. But this day it was like I was looking through someone elses lens. Then my right hand started tingling and then fell asleep. I was very panicked so I decided to sleep it off- it must be stress about graduate school right? I woke up about an hour later and my vision was a little better and my arm was numb compleatley. Well, I must have just been sleeping on it, right? Ever since that day my hands and feet have been tingling off and on, especially when I haven’t eaten. I was driving the three hours to my parents house a few weeks ago and my hands were tingling so bad I couldn’t grip the steering wheel and I lost feeling in my to