Food Combining Fact or Fiction?

Good day everyone, I am here to ask if anyone uses food combining to manage their diabetes. I ask because I was recently in a DPP class and one of the topics was food combining. I’d heard of this before and I’ve not gotten on board because it seems like a lot of trouble than it’s worth especially since I am a truck driver and my access to food is somewhat limited. I can do healthy quite well but the combinations would be overwhelming and not a good use of my time. BUT if anyone can provide me with any information based on their experience please let me know. I am willing to try to adopt but I right now I just don’t see the need. I am also somewhat disillusioned that the DPP program at my local hospital presents this information. I know it’s just information and I don’t have to act on it but it would be good to at least understand it’s role versus eating styles that follow MyPlate or at least present eating that is based on healthy choices that result in healthy lab values.

I am particularly still trying to work on getting my weight down another 80 pounds and I am thinking I need to pay more attention to portion control, exercise, stress control and incorporating mindfulness and meditation into my life. I am on the internet so I can find a copy of the Serenity Prayer so I can tape it to the refrigerator on my truck.

Just to come clean I am not diabetic but prediabetic and want to not get my weight down but I want to get my A1c down as well. So I am unable to measure my blood sugars and only have my weight and A1c a markers of my progress.

I know all of you are likely busy fighting your own diabetes battles but if you have time to respond it would be very much appreciated. Lastly if this has been discussed before sorry to bring it up again. I tried to find any references on the forum but was unable to do so.