Got the right attitude

Hi All,

I’m new to all of this and looking for some advise! I have been with my boyfriend for some time now, he has with a 3 year old daughter,Gabbi, with diabetes. Due to certain events we live with his parents. I love them all very dearly but we are not all on the same page when it comes to her diabetes. They never want to think that when she is having a tantrum its because she is being a regular 3 year old kid, they always blame it on her being diabetic (even when her sugar levels are perfect at the time). They (the grandparents) give her anything and everything she wants because of this-which causes a big problem when it comes time to say “No”. I need anyones help!! I’m at a loss trying to convice them that she is a normal kid who happens to be diabetic. I don;t want her growing up using that to limit herself or use it as a crutch. Please help!

Hallo Jodi, it is great you joined this great community; you will find the answers from parents who know better than me. I am a pediatric endocrinologist and I always stress to the parents that they have to treat their kids as they treat their siblings for many reasons. First step they have to learn about the effect of hyper or hypo on behavior and watch the pattern in their children, and again the children will feel agitated for the daily routine of checking BG, taking shots something other siblings do not do
You landed in a great community, welcome.