Having Celiac and T1D

Ive had type 1 for 13 years, and I have had Celiac disease for 3 years. Soo I'm still pretty new at the whole Gluten Free diet thing. Lately it seems like if I am having a perfect blood sugar day, then I get hit with an accidental cross contamination reaction. And if my stomach is fine for a day, then my blood sugars are completely out of whack. Anyone else have this problem? or any advice to give me on balancing both these diseases while being in college?

Hi Brianna H. I just saw your post on the group for multiple conditions; another place you might want to post is the group: http://www.tudiabetes.org/group/celiacanddiabetes

I've had Celiac Disease now for over 20 years and it remains a challenge (I've also had Type 1 for the same period of time). I read labels carefully, looking for hidden gluten, and we cook at home most of the time. The only thing I can think of is that maybe you have other allergies/sensitivities besides gluten. For instance, I can't eat soy or corn. Maybe an appointment with an allergist would give you more information. Good luck.

Well, you know that celiac disease takes precedence over diabetes. Every glutening triggers an autoimmune response that can last for weeks. Maybe nothing severe for you, in your case, but enough to keep you from your very best!