Health insurance companies bleed us, too

I was diagnosed in 2002 shortly after my health insurance went into effect. Good fortune, there. I was part of my then boyfriend’s company, & we were part of a group. After splitting with him, I went on COBRA, and when that expired, I got an individual policy. It is a guaranteed issue policy that has had yearly increasing premiums. Last year, in April, the premium jumped from $498/mo. to $625/mo. I just received a letter stating that on March 1, 2008, the premium will increase AGAIN to $914/mo.! I am a self-employed artist who travels the country selling my sculptures at festivals, & don’t see how I can afford to keep insurance at these ever-increasing costs. Has anyone out there found reasonable rates on individual policies?

I don’t want to get political, but this is why I tell everyone to vote for their own self interests. Universal health care comes to mind.

That is a shame that you almost have to pay $1000 a month.

I am on my wife’s health ins at work, we pay OVER $1,000 / month for the month gap come summer. To top that off we have a $4,000 deductable, that is teh IN-SSTEM deductable and if we need care say away from home or go to a doc outside the system its a SEPERATE HIGHER yet deductable on top of the 4k.

Now add that all up, you are talking about a grand total of $16,000/year JUST for health insurance, no food, cloths nor roof over your head. That is if you can do t all in system…lol

(&( GOMER