Help me prevent diabetes

Hi. I am new to Tudiabetes. I joined because my mom is TypeI and because if I dont change my lifestyle and lose weight FAST I have a good chance of developing Diabetes myself(recent tests show I am at risk).
I see the problem as primarily emotional. I decide to diet, i get really motivated, even manage to lose afew pounds, and then life just gets in the way. With work and family obligations I just don't seem to have the time for the planning, preparing, exercising, etc. necessary to succeed ...and then eventually I stop caring...until the next round.
I've seen some great tips here but what I really need is support. I have much admiration for those of you who manage Diabetes daily. I shudder to think what would happen if I had to actually take insulin or test daily like my life depended on it. Well at the present moment I feel my life DOES depend on it but without a diagnosis it is so easy to slip into apathy. Any replies or insights are welcome.
Hi Mom, if you are reading this, and thank you for suggesting I join :)

Helen-- I commend you for realizing that going it alone isn't enough for you. I've been there. For years I tried to stem weight gain alone: adding more whole grains, exercise, starting a strength-training regime. I even convinced my doctor that I needed a thyroid test . . . which showed mine was fine. And finally I decided to try Weight Watchers.
I was skeptical, but when I found my gynecologist (who is a fit person) at my first meeting, I became more open to WW's value. I went religiously for a year. In the process, I learned that my portion sizes needed reevaluation. The support of my group & my WW leader was buoying. I lost 35 pounds that year (& maintained 25 pounds of that loss for years). Yes, I lost slowly, but I chose to make changes that I knew I could live with.
As I incorporated more & more healthy habits, I felt much more vital--as if I had dropped a decade from my 40something self.