Weight loss with type 1

Hi Gang,

I’m brand new to Tudiabetes and just joined this group too. I’m 38 and was diagnosed with type 1 five years ago after the birth of my daughter. I’ve always been an avid exerciser (mostly in the gym). Last year I gained a little weight (no particular reason) and I can’t seem to get it off to save my life! I’m hoping some of you other active type 1’s can help. I eat between 1500-1800 calories a day, low carb (15g/meal), low GI, and I work out at the gym 3 days a week, plus one hike or walk on the weekend. My doctor said it’s harder for Type 1’s to lose, but honestly, before I gained the weight last year, I could eat almost anything I wanted & never put on a pound. Any advice?

Thanks!
Rachel

If you find the answer, let me know! :slight_smile: I think the same holds true for us, calories in vs. calories out. The problem is, as I exercise I need more calories to prevent lows so it’s very frustrating. What I think we need to be doing is adjusting insulin on the days we’ll be exercising. I probably should have lowered my pre-breakfast because I know I’ll be exercising this morning. Age plays a big part, I’m much older than you but It’s become more difficult and I’m exercising more than ever and eating less. I’ll be listening for any advice!!

yeah, let me know the magic formula. Insulin is putting more of a layer of fat around my middle and it isn’t pretty!

If I understand it correctly, insulin is a fat retaining hormone, so being insulin dependent plays a big part of it, since the body is no longer regulating itself. Aging is another factor.

After having 3 diabetic pregnancies, my weight is way up. I’m slowly losing it, but no where near what a non diabetic 41 year old woman is doing. Its incredibly frustrating.

Talk with your doc and see if she has any other suggestions. It sounds like you’re doing everything you can to lose some weight. You might need a bit more help which she can offer.