Hi, I'm new here!

Hello,

I know I joined this site a while ago but I have only really had time to write a proper hello to you all :slight_smile:

I have been a type 1 Diabetic for 8 years now and have recently started pumping, however it is still up and down and I seem to be experiencing more hypos than I did before hand (especially at work). I do have an energetic job as I work with 2 - 4 year olds, but I am struggling with my morning blood sugar levels and find they drop an hour after breakfast and I struggle to get them back to normal even after I do a temp basal rate hmph.

But that’s enough about me, it would be lovely to hear some of your stories especially if you are pumpers.

Shell x

Howdy! Yep you got a pumper here. I’ve been pumping now for 24 years (yes 24!) I got Type 1 at 10 back in 73 (BOY has things changes since then) Got a 21 & 23 year old daughter and 3 of the cutiest g-kids you will ever see. You can read more about me over on my page.

Shell, I’d lower that basal rate from 1/2 hour prior to exercising with 2-4 year olds through to the end of that period - and maybe longer since exercise effects can last a few hours. I agree with Kenx that you need less insulin per carb gram at breakfast, too. Stay out of hypoland. Those two to 4 year olds might get hooked on glucose tabs. :slight_smile:

Nice to meet you!

I agree that keeping up with 2-4 year olds can be hazardous! It may be less work and easier to remember to set the “temp basal” as your “regular basal” since I’d presume you are doing that 5 days/ week, and then you can set the “temp basal” to 120% (or whatever…) on the weekend when you don’t have kids around and can move at a more measured pace? Or, if you have your own kids, at least the “balance of power” would be slightly more favorable?

Hey Shell!.. My name is Rye…