How long do you wear your inset?

Hi everyone,
I only used about 18-22 units of insulin per day, and i've been on the pump now for a year. of course as a newbie, i followed the directions to the letter. now that i'm a "seasoned pro", i've been filling up my insulin more and more to the point where i can go almost a whole week without having to change out my inset and fill up more insulin. it not only is less time consuming, but of course it's going to cut down on costs, especially now that my new insurance only pays for a cap of 50% and $2,000 per year for diabetic supplies.

so far i haven't had any issues with irritation or infection. just wondering if anyone else is doing this? what about reusing the infusion sets/cartridges? i know one of the cons that i've read is that having the insulin in the cartridge more than 2-3 days can make it go bad, but so far, i haven't noticed a problem.

Yup. I do this. Not the set for so long, but definitely filling the cartridge and re-using it. I get 3 ml. sterile livestock syringes w/needle from Jeffers for just about nothing ($13/100?), so only a sterile needle goes into my insulin vial. I only re-use the cartridge once, but I have heard of others doing this multiple times. Also for me, only the stainless steel sets work properly (teflon allergy), so when funds are short, I can even re-use sets - Just clean the needle with an alcohol swab and reinsert, tape it down. No problems with 1 week of insulin in cartridge so far. I use Humalog, BTW.

I have a friend who routinely runs about 6 days between changes. The caveat is similar to yours in that the per-day insulin dose (TDD) is quite low and a 300 unit cartridge lasts the entire session.

Site preparation and personal hygiene seems to be the big prerequisite for making this extended-wear trick work. And even then, I think most folks will have a minor problem or two occasionally. But then again, if ya gotta... well... ya gotta.