Humalog question

I have been taking humalog on a sliding scale according to my BS readings for about two years. Yes, it works. I also take janumet 1000 mg 2/day and lantus in the evening. I start taking the humalog IF my BS is over 150 before a meal....but this seems backwards to me. I would like to take the humalog (2 mg) before every meal, the januet twice a day and lantus in the even (I don't have a set dosage on the lantus yet.....depends on my bs reading in the even and then again in the am.) I'm new at doing these things on my own, so asking people who have done their own dosing to help me out here. Do you suppose I would be over medicating myself If I did that? I don't have any lows any more, but highs are common, and that's why I want to use the humalog before meals. My PA isn't one to want more injectables as she is to add another pill, which I don't like. Ideas and thoughts. I most likely won't do anything definite until I see her and the CDE April 1.

Are you keeping a record of your pre-and-post meal BGs that you can show your PA? You can use your log as a basis for discussing a switch from sliding scale to mealtime boluses.

1 Like