Humalog VS Apidra

July 15, 2009

T1Ds, please respond to this discussion if you’ve used both Humalog and Apidra- for comparison.

I’ve just filled a new prescription for Apidra, hoping to test its abilities with my immune system for a month. I’ve been using Humalog for about three years and it’s slowly losing its potency. My ratio went from 1:15 to 1:7 and it’s nearing 1:5 now. I’m hoping that the quick peaks with Apidra will help me lower my A1c.

Do the dosages pretty much match Humalog’s? I’m afraid to use the same amounts of insulin that I’ve used with Humalog at first because I don’t want to hit another insulin shock coma- not fun.

When you switched, was the conversion simple and similar?

Please help.

Thanks so much!

July 20, 2009

Just an Update:

I’ve been on Apidra for three days now and have seen a lot of lows. This is a little scary, but it’s really relieving too because I’ve been running so high for the past couple of months on Humalog.

I’ve noticed that Apidra brings my 200 BG down in about 45 mins, where Humalog would’ve taken around 3 or 3.5 hours to bring it down. I’ve also noticed that I wake up a bit lower (46 yesterday) in the mornings, which makes me think that maybe I should go to bed around 90 or higher, instead of at my target of 75-80.

Maybe using Apidra will lower my need for Levemir too? I’ve been using much smaller doses of Apidra and my numbers have been pretty great- though I’ve been nursing quite a few lows over the past two days.

I have big hopes for this! I’m working really hard to keep myself on target-

As far as the Levemir goes, you may need to reduce it, esp if you were counting on it to help lower your post meal numbers. Keep a close watch on your overnite numbers. You may also want to do some fasting during the day to see if your numbers stay mostly level or trend downward. Trending downward would probably indicate to high a basal rate (ie Levemir), whereas if they are steady, your dose would probably be pretty good