I just had my worst scare

Maybe I should introduce myself. My name is Tom and I am an Israeli tour guide. I’ve been on insulin since I was in my 30s (I’m 56 as of two days ago.) I’ve been using a Cozmo pump for the last 5 years. I travel a lot including frequently by air. I’ve got strong opinions about just about everything but I’m also curious about just about everything. I am very active including hiking, scuba, motorbikes and exploring anything I find interesting. If anyone has questions about Israel, feel free to ask.
I was sitting here enjoying Shabbat when I decided it was time to check the numbers before lunch. I was shocked to see the number 245. I hit the pump a few bumps right away and decided to go for a long walk. About an hour and a half later I got back from my long walk and went to see how the numbers were doing. To my despair it was still 215! What it the world was going on? So I thought, maybe there is something on my hands still. I went and washed carefully and checked again. 235! That can’t be! So I checked again. 274! Nooooo! So I checked again…301 I couldn’t even grasp the concept. So I checked again…345! Sugar can’t go up that high in 5 minutes after a long walk, can it? That’s when I realized that it really can’t happen that way. My meter was malfunctioning. Thankfully, I still have an old meter in a drawer so I got it out and was very relieved to see that the correct number was 105. I think I probably gained 20 points from stress in the process though.

I didnt know you can check your sugar levels and use a pump during shabbos. I’ve learned that you do not do any work (ok I’ll admit I a ma bad Jew) but its always good to have a 2nd meter just in case!!)

Just thought of one more thing. I have heard a pump malfunctioning and it can cause high numbers. Again good thing you checked on another meter as well.