I, of course have another question

Once I get approval of my kermit (the name for my pump), how do I go about extra supplies? I know that I always had a pen when I am doing MDI but what about in case of something happens type deal. This is my first time o a pump so I am wondering how I go about getting a back up kit going. How do I go aobut getting rx, etc?

So overall, what do you have in your backup bag?

Amy, thanks for asking this. I to would like to know the answer. I know I can get Humalog pen samples from my endo’s office. My insurance company has said if I’m buying vials, I can’t also have the pens. I just assumed that I’d get one at my doc’s office, or I’d inject from the bottle of Humalog I have for my pump. I’m sure there’s a better way.

that is why I asked. I’m not sure what my insurance will do. Its commonwealth care which is a type of medicaid here in my state. So I had to ask.

I was able to get both Levemir & Apidra pens as backup to keep in my fridge. I am using the Apidra vials for the pump and my insurance didn’t care that I got both. Your insurance should let you have a box of Lantus or Levemir pens since the vials are the fast acting. Some people don’t keep them as backup but I live in a small town and if my pump would die on the weekend, I would not be able to get any. If you can’t get a box of pens thru your insurance or samples from your doctor, ask for a prescription for syringes. You should actually get some syringes anyway. I had them from the old days (glad I saved those things!) and now keep 2 in my purse just in case my pump would croak when I am not close to home – that way, I can at least get insulin out of the cartridge. I also use the syringes when I have insulin in the vial but not enough to get into the cartridge – saves some waste there.

I also keep an extra infusion set in my purse. Some people carry batteries with them also – I don’t do that but probably should.