I'm a newbie here, and here's my history

Hello all, I'm new here as of today, and I'm very glad to have found you and to be here with you. Here's my history.

I am 70 years old and 10 years ago I was told I was glucose intolerant. About three years later I was formally dx'd with type 2. Shortly after that I was put on meds. I was on Actos for a couple of years, then glimepiride (starting with 1 mg, now 4) then Januvia, which is horribly expensive was added.

My A1C went down from 7.2 to about 6.5 with the meds but then it began to climb slowly and now it is at 8.1 and my doctor decided to put me on Levemir at the beginning of this week -- plus the meds.

I will have to confess that even though I quit smoking cold turkey 30 years ago, I find sugar much more difficult. I'm afraid I cheat a little every now and then.

Can anyone tell me about levemir and type 2?

Ugh no I can't Richard but there's a group here that is only Type 2's. I'm a Type 1 myself. Go check it out.

Welcome to the site and to the club, I guess. I was a type 2 until everything just quit and antibodies showed in a gad65 test. I know and understand your position. Don't worry about the Levemir, it will help. I wouldn't be surprised if your physician adds some rapid acting insulin for you at meal time. Insulin is a wonderful drug, and no type two should be afraid of it, although many can be. For me, getting my diet in order was a lot like quitting smoking twenty some years ago... it was something that I no longer felt that I needed. Carbs, in the amount that I was consuming, wasn't necessary, either.

Hang in there; keep at this. It will become easier as you become accustomed to it. We are all here to help.

Be well.

Brian Wittman

Brian, Thanks for the thoughtful reply. I don't fear the insulin at all. and I'm happy to say my BG this morning was 110, the lowest in a long time.