"Inflammatory" foods - is there any science behind this?

I’ve heard quite a bit about how foods like gluten and dairy are “inflammatory” and trigger all sorts of health problems including autoimmune conditions. I’ve been avoiding both for four to six years because of a legitimate, MD-diagnosed allergic condition and instructions from allergists to avoid them. I’ve been surprised at how many people, both people who have autoimmune conditions and people who are perfectly healthy, avoid them by choice. I take the whole “inflammatory” thing with a grain of salt because of my personal experience. I was just curious where this whole “anti-inflammatory” diet thing started and whether there’s any actual science behind any of it. (I would think not, since I’ve done quick searches and found nothing, but there are many people here who are more knowledgeable of the literature than I am.)

1 Like

I would refer you to Dr. Perlmutter’s books: Grain Brain and Brainmaker.

2 Likes

Thanks!

1 Like

[@Jen – About the specific recommendations above, please also read this: The Problem With David Perlmutter, the <i>Grain Brain</i> Doctor and keep your original grain of salt in mind. Just because a person has “Dr.” in front of their name does not mean they are currently practicing evidence-based medicine. This person (along many other “celebrity” doctors) certainly doesn’t. My good rule of thumb: if the good doctor is busy publishing popular books, they probably don’t have the time to engage with real science. If they are also selling anything, such as supplements, entertainment shows, etc., I definitely can’t count them as an impartial source of medical advice.]

This is not to say that we have the answer to the original question about foods that cause inflammation or that more and better legitimate research might not discover such evidence. But for the moment we actually KNOW very little on this topic and a lot of diets and advice dispensed out there is quackery.