Infusion Sites on Pump

I was just reading a post about a pumper taking a pump vacation due to poor absorption, scar tissue from pump. So, those who have been pumping along time, is this an issue? Does your absorption rate decrease the longer you're pumping? Do you have a lot of scar tissue, infections, bad site areas? thanks!

Four years - I don't know if that is a long time. No problems. I have had reduced absorption (or thought perhaps I did) and just changed sites for a while. No scar tissue. No infections. No bad site areas. I switched to metal sets so that eliminated the problems I had with bent canulas and if there is a sensitive spot I just move it and tape it done. No muss, no fuss, no waste. For me and I dare say many of us, pumping works.

I have been pumping since 1990 and no issues. Rotation is key. If a site has any discomfort, I change it pdq. Those times are rare as are kinked or bent canulas. No scar tissue, no areas that can't take a site, no infections. I have not found absorption rate decrease and in fact keep needing less insulin as I grow up.

The number of posts I've seen lately from people talking about "scar tissue" is really starting to make me wonder what "scar tissue" actually is.

How do you recognize it? How do you know that, whatever it may be, that it is what is responsible for site problems and not that you simply "hit a bad spot"?

I've been using a pump since the fall (I think) of 1996 and I don't think I have developed any scarring. If I do have it, none of the doctors I've seen has never said anything to me about it. (How easy is it for a doctor or nurse to recognize "scar tissue" during a physical exam?)