Infusion Sites

Can anyone give me some infusion site ideas. I have been using my stomach since I got the pump about five weeks ago. It’s getting tuff using the same area. I wear a uniform so I bought the waist pump holder and I put it under my zipper. Thanks for your help, Vince.

Hi Vince,

Not great but here’s a picture:

I wouldn’t worry so much about just using one area for 5 weeks. I’ve been using my upper abdomen for 18 months with no problems at all. As long as you rotate the sites properly, you shouldn’t have a problem.

They say that basically anywhere you can “pinch an inch” you can use that area for a pump site. I’m sure there are exceptions and areas it’s just not practical.

Besides my belly, I put them at the bottom of my sides or better known as love handle area and it works great. You can also try putting them at the top of your butt. Some people put them in their thighs but I’ve never done that.

I use my upper arms and thighs a lot. These are my favorite sites, actually. I recommend, if you use the shorter tubing, buy a box of the infusion sets with the longer tubing for arm sites so after running the tube through your shirt and to your pocket, or wherever you keep it, you still have extra tubing at the waist to move it around. Just be warned that you will notice that the insulin will react a little differently at each site - I get much faster absorption with thigh sites (because I have less fat there and I walk a lot) so I don’t bolus as far in advance as I would with an arm or stomach site. Good luck finding new sites!