Insanity

As many of you know, I've been playing with IntraMuscular injections for that past several months. As reported in other threads, everything's about 2x as fast as subcutaneous (I call them subQ) injections.

So far, I've only used them for corrections, and usually only significant ones.

Today I gave a meal bolus a try. I was nervous, worried it would get ahead of my digestion, and I'd have a low.

Well, that didn't happen. In fact, it was so incredible it was almost like having a fulling working pancreas, with no insulin resistance!

I ate a standard lunch I have every week. Well known. Very well. Usually, pre-bolus 40 minutes ahead, eat, and follow up with a modest extended bolus over 4 hours to cover protein and fat (my weekly In 'n Out Double Double :-))

I usually stay under 140, but dip down into the 70s, most of the time, before glucose hits the blood and things start rising. Typically, I'll get a 50-60 pt rise if I've done everything right, and 4 hours later I'm back down in the 80s/90s.

This time? First, no extended bolus. Just the initial pre-bolus, but injected IM. I waited 25 minutes instead of 40 before stuffing my maw.

All I can say is.... WOW!!!!!!! I flat-lined. I couldn't believe it. My BG never did more than wiggle a little bit. It dropped 10 from when I injected down to 68; then, rose all the way to the stratospheric 95, peaked, and is now back down to 82 5 hours later.

With less insulin (remember, no extended TAG bolus).

I may just dump the pump and go back to MDI with pens, using 12mm needles for IM injections more often than not. This is very exciting!!

Of course, there is greater risk. I'm guessing we'll discuss it :-) However, for the right, diligent people, I believe its a completely manageable risk.

Got some pondering to do...