Insulin pumps, mainly Omni pod, and MEDICARE

Does anyone here have a pump, or omni pod and is on Medicare and how is medicare handling this?? It’s an important matter for me…

Thanks guys…

Dee

Thanks Dave…I was approved originally but, when I ordered my 2nd batch of supplies, I was denied coverage by Edgepark… I’ve been fighting this for for about 6 weeks.
Edgepark will STILL not cover me!
Today I spoke to the Center for Medicare and Medicaid services (CMMS) who also told me I was covered…Edgepark STILL refuses to cover me.
I am appealing to my ins. co… with an explanation and a Letter from my Endo.
I find this totally Stressful and it’s affecting my health.

What is MM??
Edgepark I feel is good, but they just don’t want to listen that I am covered…
Thanks for responding…

Dee I have been pumping for almost 11 years. The last pump I received January of this year and it was the first I’ve gotten through Medicare. When I started on Medicare in 2005 I had to have bloodwork done, I think it was to establish my C-peptide. I have been a Type 1 most of my life. I have communicated with some people who are Type 2 and are on a pump.

Thank you Betty for your response. . we are probably the same age :slight_smile:
Today, I spoke to someone at the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMMS) and they told me a pump is a covered service by Medicare if it is proven one is needed. I certainly have proof. I changed from Type 2 to Type 1, end of last year. . Pills no longer worked for me. Regular insulin was sending me to extreme lows and highs in the beginning. My Endo thought a Pump would be just what I needed. He was right! Omni Pod was my choice.
I have sent a written copy of Medicare’s (Pump) Benefits to Edgepark, as they say they follow Medicare Procedures. Edgepark keeps saying it’s not a covered service no matter what I say…