It hit me like a bag of bricks!

So now that Im a college graduate, I had to get on my own health insurance through my work (or else my dad would be paying thousands!) well I went to go get my insulin refilled for the first time using my own insurance and the price is rediculous! Ok, I am on a pump…my insurance covers alllllllllllllllllllllll of the pump supplies, no charge to me at all, but 4 vials of novolog and it went from $10 to $62 a month!!! How can that be? my pump supplies are more expensive than insulin! I called the insurance agency and they said novolin is only $27 a month, but I dont know what type of insulin that is! humalog is only $1 cheaper than the novolog.

im going to have to get a second job to pay for everything!

Novolin is regular insulin, lasts longer than Novolog, kicks in more slowly. You need to take it 40 minutes or so before eating.

Hi Sarah,
You must have some pretty good insurance. One vial of Humalog costs me $39. I use almost two per month. They told me if iused more it would be cheaper. What???

Does Wal-Mart sale any version of Humalog or Lantus? And do you need a prescription to purchase?

Thank you very much Cathy

Hopefully, there will be a change in the leadership in this country and help will be available for the under-insured, those who have no insurance at all and yes, even for co-pays for those with good insurance. My sister’s co-pays for my niece’s supplies run $200. Actually, since she gets supplies from two different places probably more. Pennsylvania will pick up the cost of copays for those with chronic illnesses, regardless of your salary. I have heard that Michigan helps college students, and Massachusetts has a lot of help for adults. We need to take it nationwide!

Sarah,