Ketones with normal blood sugar

If anyone has been reading my other posts you may know that I am new to the omnipod. I have been a diabetic for 10 years. Last night however was my first scare with high blood sugar and ketones. I got my blood sugars back down and stable over night, but woke up and I still have ketones. I also did not eat any carbs since 1pm yesterday. Could this be why I still have ketones? I have since then eaten breakfast. Hoping ketones go away.

@gsmergss - Any idea the level of ketones? Are you using urine strips for testing.

Don’t be alarmed at low level ketones, especially if you’ve not eaten for 12 hours or more (essentially a 12 hour fast). Trace ketones are normal under these circumstances.

At the same time, be cognizant that using a pump, if your insulin delivery is impaired for more than 4-6 hours, you can develop ketones far more rapidly than a T1D who’s injecting basal insulin.

If ever in doubt, injections (MDI) of insulin will throw the brakes on ketosis.

1 Like

I think I am definitely getting enough insulin because my levels are normal. I think they were so high yesterday because I wasn’t taking enough insulin for the food I was eating.

1 Like

@gsmergss I’m a low-carber (I intentionally avoid all carbs) and I’ve been in ketosis for some time. I have lower levels of ketones (1.5 mmol/L), certainly nowhere near approaching DKA levels.

I still requires insulin to manage sugars produced by my body metabolizing non-carbohydrate substrates (“Glycogenesis”). A little insulin has minimal impact on ketone levels. My total daily dose (TDD - basal and bolus combined) is 16-18 units per day.

If (when) I do 72 hour fasts, I cut my basal dose by 25-30%, and I’d still need 9-10 units per day eating nothing.

2 Likes

this is a good guide
https://c.ymcdn.com/sites/www.ispad.org/resource/resmgr/Docs/CPCG_2014_CHAP_13.pdf