Letter to my Diabetes

June 23, 2009:

Dear fellow diabetics and others,

I’ve copied and pasted the letter I wrote for all to read. Yes, I do have a new Mac computer, so I think it’s hard for some to “read” Mac files. I’m still learning about my Mac by taking the One-to-One sessions they offer and I’m having fun!

To answer the question about the occupational therapist and the group: The occupational therapist told me that she designed an eight week program covering the emotional side of dealing with a chronic illness, but could not find funding for it. She has instead used some of it for our group. Hence, the “letter to our diabetes”.

As far as the groups, I have returned recently to two groups. One meets once a month locally (Burbank) and the other is every other month a little further away (USC College). The Burbank one is a mixed group full of Type II’s with myself being the only T1, while the USC group is specifically for any diabetic on an intensive insulin therapy or a pump.

I needed to return to a group as I was isolating myself too much and going crazy over my diabetes! I was looking for a “support” group and hesitant because “support” groups are usually a guest comes to speak and there is a Q and A afterwards. I’ve always been, “Where is the time to vent/talk/share, etc. I need that!” It appears that this website is just that and the best for me. However, the two groups do come closer to that now than they did before. In my opinion the guest thing works well especially for newly diagnosed diabetics and those who care for us; for “older” diabetics, the other is better—in my opinion.

Thanks for all your comments and help in how to do the correct “computer” thing so all can read this letter…