Looking for information on how to set up an insulin pump for a friend in Tunisia

My name is Michael Mc Cann; I am a commercial airline pilot and am trying to help out a friend struggling with type 1.

There are many lifestyle and social challenges for this young girl.
The goal of this effort is to give her more freedom and choice in her life.
After some discussion, I think it would be best to try to provide her with an insulin pump.
I am new to the details surrounding this goal but am very willing to learn from people like you deal with this every day.
Insulin pumps are not available to her at the moment and I would be interested in hearing your ideas on the subject.

Thank you in advance
Regards,
Michael

Hi Michael,

A pump is an awsome tool for blood sugar control, but diabetes is a highly complex disease. In my opinion, medical care, supplies of medication and supervision would be really important for anyone struggling with T1DM along with lifestyle and social challenges.

If you’re interested, pick up and do a quick read in a book called Pumping Insulin by John Walsh, to get an idea of the issues and committments with an insulin pump. You see, the pump itself is great, but 24 X 7 technical support, local expertise, and a very robust supply chain is required for all of us on a pump. The pump is the most expensive of all delivery methods of insulin for T1 diabetes and so are the supplies (consumables). It’s about 5-6 grand for a pump and the supplies are at least US$100 per month, and this doesn’t include the fast acting insulin at nearly $100 a bottle. If your friend in Tunisia is very poor or disadvantaged, would it be better to get her the pump or almost 4 years of syringes, lispro insulin, vitamins, and other vital supplies and doctor visits?

You fly, just picture owning your own commercial jet aircraft. You can imagine there’s more to it than just needing a pilot.

All the best in your noble effots! There are a lot of us here and many of us pump too.