Medicare pump rules different than what I was told previous to today

I had a long chat with CCS Medical, the provider of my replacement pump which will be a 670G.

1. They said the return period is 30 days from “shipment date to the last day one can request a return”. NOT the 1 year that every person at both Tandem and Medtronic has told me since December of last year, to date.

2. It will be a refurb; no new pumps are sent and she explained that when the 670G first came out they couldn’t provide them via Medicare because there was no supply of refurbed 670’s so they only could provide the 630. Obviously, that changed over time.

I’m confused by this CCS policy. I’ve never secured a pump under Medicare rules, so I have no personal experience. What did they say when you told them you thought that Medicare policy consisted of a 12-month rental period that permitted the user’s ability to terminate the commitment?

Maybe your and my understanding is premised on a manufacturer compliance with Medicare policy and a third party supplier policy as it complies with the underlying Medicare rules.

2 Likes

They said it is paid off over a year. I’ve no idea where the truth lies–just repeating what I was told. Quite frustrating, to say the least. I think I’ll make another call to Medtronic…
[EDIT] Medtronic confirms what CCS Medical told me today, which is quite a departure from what I was told by both Tandem and medtronic, by no less than 4 people beginning in December of last year, through a few weeks ago.

1 Like

Here is one explanation of how rental works, but not clear on return of pump during first year.

1 Like

Hi Dave. So I am understanding that if one is on Medicare they do not get a “new” 670G pump?

Are they still short of supply on the 670G so that is why new ones aren’t available to Medicare people?

Dave see if you can be connected with the person that serves your state. Here is the number and extension. 18006464633 Ext. 16519.