Meeting diabetics

As a child I used to attend diabetic camps, and when I was an undergrad in college I had a diabetic roommate for four years. Now that we’ve graduated and she’s moved away, I’m trying to figure out how to meet with diabetics in my area. I really only feel like I can totally relax and be myself around fellow diabetics (as I’m sure you all know). Any suggestions?

Hey! You meet check out your local jdrf office and see if they have support groups in your area. Also check out local hospitals they probally have support groups.Or not sure if you guys have one but Diabeties education center. Good luck let me know how you make out. take care bye

Carly, also check out the Local ADA office they be able to help you get in contact with other diabetics. If you go to a support group and you are not happy with it try another one. I went to my first support group meeting in the early 90s after being diabetic trying to find ways to help with control all I got was how bad life was with D and I never went back til did not need that. I am now a part of a group in Plano TX that is very up beat and informative don’t give up.

You’re lucky to have had anything past camp. Once I was done with camp as a teenager, I’ve never been able to find any RL friends with 'betes.

I got involved with my local JDRF chapter 3 years ago. They didn’t have anything for adults with T1, so I volunteered to start something, but there was never any interest. My local chapter just seems to attract parents with T1 kids, not adults, so that’s been a disappointment, and I gave up on it.