Military Academy

My son is a type 1. He was interested in the Military Academies but found out there is a restriction on diabetics. We just discovered the US Maritime Academy and I'm wondering if anyone knows if they have a similar restriction. One desk at the pentagon said it was waiverable. I'm trying to figure out where to go to get confirmation. Any information would be appreciated.
Thanks
Stu

I don't know of a branch of any U.S. military that allows people with diabetes to enlist. It's pretty much an automatic disqualification for anybody trying to volunteer for military service for the first time.

That being said, it doesn't look like the U.S. Maritime Academy has any particular ties to any branch of U.S. military service. From what I can tell, it focuses on licensing for commercial shipping opportunities.

PerhapsSam could answer you. He is a master mariner, and licensed to pilot any ship of any size. and he's type1.

I’m a maritime academy graduate and current unlimited master mariner, with a health waiver for diabetes .The maritime academy is not military. There is a federal academy, and several state academies. The federal is generally considered in the industry to produce the least desirable graduates… But they don’t pay tuition there either. Instead they join the merchant marine reserve upon graduation which means that if there was a world war 3 type situation, they would be the first ones called to transport the military’s goods and equipment all over the place, thus they are required to train with the navy on occasion in order to be able to coordinate together in an emergency. Upon graduation from any of the maritime academies, graduates will have an entry level ships officers licenses to work aboard commercial ships as a third mate or third assistant engineer— these positions are licensed by the US coast guard who do require that you pass their physical standards. Diabetes is a “waiverable condition”. To get my waiver I had to do an exercise stress