Motivation?

my blood sugar always seems to be high, and my A1C is just awful. When I do check my blood sugar very often, and eat descent foods my blood sugar is manageable. I know the answer to all my problems is to just get on top of things. However; I just pig out and never test my blood sugar. I think I just need to be motivated to check it, and keep better track of what i eat. can anybody help me? give me some motiviation?

Hi Marina!
The problem with diabetes motivation is that it IS hard to stay motivated ALL the time! We all know what we can and should do, it’s just finding the willpower or energy or whatever to get doing it.

My motviation is that I want to be healthy for a long time. I work as an optician (in an optometry office). Over the years (before I was diagnosed) I have met many people who are older diabetics with eye issues. Most of them said they realize the complications they have are from bad control or ignoring thier diabetes entirely when they were young. Unforturnately, regret years later can’t undo it.

I want to travel the world, laugh lots, enjoy everything that’s out there. Being healthy now is the best way to make sure I can do it all!

Happy New Year to you,
Nadine

Hi Marina,

Although my diabetes (Type 2) is not as hard to manage as Type 1 my motivation is that when I am much older I do not want to be a burden on my family with complications from poor control in my earlier years. That is what drives me forward. There is always going to be highs and lows but I try to minimize them… Good Luck.