My son was dx as type 1 diabetic and he is 2 years old. any advice?

my heart was rumbled by the news. if it weren’t for my mom, my child would have been worse. as a nurse, i have no problems giving injections to patients but it hurts when i inject my 2 year old son. he cries everytime i inject him and i cry too.:(. i know this is keeping him alive. it just hurts. any advice on how to raise a two year old with diabetes?

Hi jellyman, welome to tudiabetes. Hopefully you will get feedback from some of the other parents and from type 1’s who remember being diagnosed as children.

thank you so much for your encouragement. my son is on lispro and nph. his bg goes up and down. he doesn’t mind the fingerpricks but the needles. he is fighting me and my wife. how can i encourage him? also, was his bg all over the place after he left the hospital?

Some suggestions… Might want to get your child an insulin pen/pen syringe and pen needles. they tend to be be avalible with smaller needles and less painful than syringes and theres less anxiety with them… Also check out Multiclix/Delica/or BD (green or blue, blue is smaller), and Tiniboy lancets… The BD ones seem a lot smoother/sharper/less painful than most of the meter manufacturers loose lancets, but the multiclix lancets are really smooth insertion, plus come in a 6 lancet drum. Also you can use ice before you swab to actually numb the injection site to try to make it a little less painful… ice for a min or two, then wipe dry, then alcohol swab. Plus at some point getting your child on a pump can make things less painful… Sets tend to insert a lot smoother than needles… One (insertion) vs multiple injections for 2-3 days (depending on set/person using it, some people have delivery issues after 2 days…)… And as someone suggested, the children with diabetes website…

Best of luck
-j