Need Pregnancy Tips- Please help! :)

I'm T1, 33 years old, 6 weeks pregnant and very ignorant in the world of pregnancy. I want to be as proactive and self educated as possible and i know that my fellow Tu women will have special insight that no medical doctor could teach me. I need you! Any tips would be great and any heads up on ditches to avoid would be greatly appreciated.
My immediate questions are regarding choosing a high risk dr.I've not had a good experience at my OB, need to find a Perinatologist (sp?), and love my endo.
Any input on any subject would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you all!
Heather

The book “Balancing Pregnancy with Pre-existing diabetes” By Cheryl Alkon has been a great help for me. It gives tips and testimonies by many T1 just like us. I’m not an expert, I’m also a T1 and I’m 5 weeks pregnant;but I can tell you the book has given me the confidence to believe that I can do this. If you are in the NY area I can recommend you the Maternal Fetal Medicine Associates. They are experts with T1 diabetics. Good Luck!!

Congrats Heather! The Balancing Pregnancy book is a must, and the women here are also great with questions/concerns/panics. It can be hard to know if you've found the right doctor, so do your best, follow your gut, and just be sure to be a pro-active patient. The book also gives you enough info to better judge if your doctor's know what they are doing. Best of luck!

It seems that there are many different ways to manage women with type 1 during pregnancy (i.e. some high-risk OBs want to have complete control over the pregnancy and diabetes management, some only consult and you also still work with a normal OB, some let you still see your endo, some don't, etc...) So that can be really confusing to figure out.