New to diabetes: I think I might have type 1. Insight is welcome!

Hi, all. I'm new to diabetes and hoping to get a little feedback about my situation. I've been really impressed with the quality of the discussions on these forums and I'd welcome any opinions. I'll try to make my life story as brief as possible. :)

I'm 37 years old, I'm generally healthy, and not overweight (5'7" and about 120 lbs). I've had trouble with blood sugar lows since my early 20's. I've mentioned that to several doctors over the years and they always just said I had a lazy liver that was slow to release glucagon. (I've documented lows as low as 38 with a blood glucose monitor. I feel terrible when it happens: shaky, sweaty, nauseous, unable to think. It's scary.) My lows were always a couple of hours after eating a very carby meal, although I didn't realize this until a couple of years ago when my husband started eating paleo. I saw how good he was feeling on the paleo diet and decided to try it to, just for general good health. I felt great (after the initial adjustment to not eating grains, which was hard for me) and I no longer had low blood sugar episodes! I've done paleo more or less strictly since then, with a couple of short periods of returning to eating grains. (Short-lived periods because grains just make me feel bad, especially wheat.)

Just prior to starting the paleo diet my oncologist (I'm a Hodgkin's disease survivor) ran an a1c test on me and I was at 5.7. I didn't know about this until a year and a half later when I saw it on a lab printout. That seemed a little high to me and he had run the a1c because my blood glucose had been high at the previous appointment.