New to T1

I am brand new to the diabetes community. I was just diagnosed 2.5 weeks ago. I am a nurse and so as far as the normal things I kinda knew the basics. My question is since starting my Lantus at night I wake up with a horrible headache every morning as well as I will wake up in the middle of the night with my heart racing. Is this something diabetes/insulin related or is just my anxiety since diagnosis? Thank you in advance!

I’d suggest checking your sugar if you wake up at night. Morning headaches were a common feature following a hypo for me.
And heart racing would be during the low.

3 Likes

Have you checked your BG when this happens?
Maybe try a libre cgm to follow trend of what your bg is doing.

If bg ok, maybe reaction to additives in Lantus, or as you mention, anxiety/stress?

Do you also do a mealtime insulin? If so, how long before bed?

2 Likes

Welcome to TuD @Kelsey1! Sorry you qualify to join our club but community is one of things that makes life a little easier for us. If you stick around, you’ll learn useful things you won’t hear elsewhere.

Taking Lantus at night won’t likely cause a headache or a racing heart. The stress of the diagnosis and the overload of new information, however, might.

A low or high blood sugar can cause some uncomfortable symptoms. How have your blood glucose levels been? Are you using a fingerstick meter? Are you just taking Lantus or are you also taking a mealtime insulin? Are you using pens?

1 Like

When I was first diagnosed with type 1, my heart would race and I also got headaches and weird pulsing feelings in my ears.

Even though my sugars were in range as much as my meter could back then, but really I was just getting used to my new normal. If you were running in the 300s and now you are at 100 your body is in a sort of panic mode.

If you do a finger stick and it’s in the normal range, then probably you just need to get used to the normal range.

4 Likes