New to the site!

Hello everyone. I am new to this site. I am 22 years old and was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes about 7 months ago. I was sick for about a month before anyone would diagnose my illness as diabetes. The doctors I saw (which were horrible) thought I was having a panic attack, because of the stress I was under. Finally they ran my blood sugar level, to only discover I indeed had diabetes. I was in the ICU for a week, with DKA. At first I was in denial, thinking they had made a mistake. Living with this disease is frustrating, and I get mad sometimes, thinking why did I have to get this now.

This is why I have come to the site. I wanted to find people my age with similar situations. My friends and family sometimes do not understand what I am feeling. Everything is new to me, and I am just trying to get adjusted to this new lifestyle! Any advice anyone would have I would love to hear about it!

Rachel,
I was also diagnosed 7 months ago as well. I’m also new to all of this. I’m learning the best way to help my friends and family understand is to be my own advocate about the things I’m feeling and going through. They won’t know unless I tell them.
Even though, I admit that sometimes that is difficult, because I don’t know how I’m feeling about things. The thing that helps me is I try to see the “lighter” side of all of this. I also try to remind my friends and family that I am the same person I was before I was diagnosed, just someone who is more aware of healthier things. I hope this helps.

I’m also 22, but I’ve had type 1 for 14 years. I have a blog about my life with diabetes, www.lemonade-life.com. Feel free to check it out and if you have any questions, just let me know. Take care!