New to this board and New to Omnipod

Hi Everybody,

I am new to this board and new to OmniPod but not new to diabetes. Been type 1 for 50 years. I was diagnosed when there was no carb counting, no insulin pump, no glucometers and no CGMs. I have been injecting for 50 years and when I started out, you peed in a cup to check for sugar in your urine. Isn't technology grand?!! :0)....

So anyhow my endo finally convinced me to try pumping...I selected Omnipod because..well vanity basically. I counldn't and still can't imagine dealing with the tubing. I don't always have a pocket to put the pump in/on. I wear dresses..no belt. I have an active busy life and fortunately am in pretty good health and good shape for a 55 year old lady...

I wear a Dexcom CGM and love that (on my abdomen). My blood sugars have been pretty good and the Dexcom has helped....I have had an A1C as low as 6.3 and range between that and 6.9 normally. That is with injections....

So why switch to the pump?? Well sometimes it was inconvenient to inject, like during a lunch business meeting....OK...And my endo was really saying it would make my life easier.....

I like the technology of the pod..But I am 3 weeks in and my blood sugars are sky high. My Dexcom looks like a yo-yo.....No nice relatively even lines for me. I am pumping for EVERTHING I eat, even things I didn't used to have to inject for like coffee, a handful of peanuts..And when BS goes up, it goes up fast and then seems to get stuck...

I am working with the trainer from Insulet and she and I are working with the diabetes nurse manager at my endo office. Seems like my new 100 is now 200 and where my BS used to go from the 100 range to 200 range when I ate , it now goes from 200 to into the 300's....Just did an adjustment to my nightime basal but it was still a iittle high this morning.