New to TuDiabetes

I’m new to the tudiabetes family. I’m a T2 and have been managing with Byetta and diet and excercise. Lately my blood sugars have been up and down with extreme levels and I’m thinking of asking my Endo about a pump. I love to work out, hike, and camp with my son’s Boy Scout troop. The hypos have made all of that very difficult and I hate being on a schedule. I lost 35 lbs last year and I have gained 5 of that back. My A1C went from 5.5 in July to 6.3 in November. With the highs and lows that I’m experiencing now I’m sure when I see the doctor today that it will surely not be good. Any advice on pumps and experiences with making the decision to move to insulin would be greatly helpful to me.

Hello, welcome to tuD. I think a lot of times type 2 think that insulin may be the direction to go. It may be for some that are loosing the ability to produce insulin, but for others if insulin resistance is the issue an insulin pump or insulin is not going to be your next round for control. If you are having lows and highs it would seem that your body is still producing insulin. I have that issue where currently where I can go from 180 to 70 in no time. Adding insulin if that is the issue may control the high but you will be more likely to experience lows since your body may still be working up to a point. My current A1C has been between 6.5 and 7 and I am currently on metformin only. Since we are seeing lows you may still be producing insulin that is what my endo told me since I have a similar issue to you.