Non-food holiday traditions

Hi all,

I'm a writer with Diabetes Forecast magazine and I'm working on an article for a holiday issue about holiday traditions that don't involve food. For example, I know someone whose family always plays a pick-up game of basketball on Thanksgiving day.

I would love to hear from a couple people who have their own family traditions that don't involve the holiday meal. I'm hoping to interview each this week or early next week. The interview will be fairly short, so I won't need much of your time.

If you're interested, email me at tneithercott@diabetes.org or respond to this discussion, making sure to include your email address so I can contact you.

I'm looking forward to hearing your stories!

Tracey Neithercott

While, as Jews, we have a lot of holiday-specific foods and food-based traditions, there are also a number of other holiday traditions we observe. On Simchat Torah, we take all the torah scrolls down from the ark and dance with them in the synagogue and in the streets. On Purim, we dress up as characters from the Book of Esther, read the story aloud, and shout, boo, and rattle noisemakers (called groggers) to drown out the name “Haman” whenever it is mentioned. On Chanukah, we light a special menorah (called a chanukiah), one candle per day of the holiday (1 on the first day, 2 on the second day, 8 on the 8th day), play with a four-sided top called a dreidl, and give gifts and money (“Chanukah gelt”) to our children.

That said, most holidays observed in the United States have one or more non-food components: Independence Day parades and fireworks, the Thanksgiving Day parade (and football games), more parades on Memorial Day, Flag Day, Columbus Day, Labor Day, Veteran’s Day; Christmas carols, concerts, and gifts; masquerades for Hallowe’en and Mardi Gras, new clothes for First Day of School, Jewish High Holy Days, Christmas, Easter…