Oh, those carbs!

After my discussion on “How normal is normal?” I was left with a lot of questions regarding carb intake. We all know this food group is the one we have to watch the most, but there is this popular believe that you have to cut them too much. Then I remembered (I’m a Biologist) that only brain function requires a minimum of 130 grams of carbs a day. And it is more than wise to ingest AT LEAST that amount of carbohydrates.

So my nutritionists numbers were good. 45-60 grams of carbs per meal, preferably the lowest one. No more, NO LESS. We need carbs too, we are functioning bodies, glucose is the brain’s fuel. I certainly want to make sure mine works properly.

I just felt like posting this. There is much talk about low-carb or (GASPS!) no-carbs diets, and it never made sense to me.

Being on an insulin pump I can eat as many carbs a day as I want of course the down side is that I take more insulin which equals weight gain even though I have a very high metabolism. Low carb no way-I believe in moderation, extremes at either end are for the birds!!!

The brain can get the glucose it needs from the protein you eat. 58% of a gram of protein can be converted to carb.

So you do not need to eat ANY carb at all to maintain your brain as long as you eat enough protein. This is another one of those “facts” that ignorant nutritionists pass around.

I managed to publish a couple of books while eating 60 grams a day for 3 years. My brain was just fine!

Jenny, I appreciate the information you provide. While I did know the metabolism of amino acids has glucose as one of the final products, I never thought of it as a good source of glucose.