OK! It seems like I'm not getting this

Ok guys, I am a young woman just kicking into my 20s and it seems like I’m not getting this right! I’ve been diabetic for like 11yrs (I’ve been on the pump for 5yrs) and judging that time I should be like a pro at this. I have to admit that I’m not very lineant with my diabetes. I don’t know how to control it. I have very low self-motivation when it comes to it. I don’t check my BGs often (idk why). I want to know what I can do to get back with the flow. I’m a college student so it’s hard to stay focused and I need some options!! please… suggestions?

Unfortunately, I think the only way to develop “Flow” (good word, btw, there’s a psych book by the same name I’d read for martial arts classes that’s really good and useful for diabetes with the waves of waves) is to test a lot with focus.

If you can’t get into the routine of test often, have you considered getting a sensor? It might help you visualize what you blood sugar levels are doing

Except you need to test often to make the sensor work too?

hi J, glad you posted. I was reminded of another post here from a while back that contained some excellent suggestions to another type1 struggling with motivation.

https://forum.tudiabetes.org/topics/worst-diabetic-ever-needs-help

I especially like Kristin’s suggestions about not letting the numbers rule your self-esteem. she really helped me on this. I used to not test very often too, because if I saw a “bad” number, it would make me feel BAD. now I don’t think of bg numbers as bad, I think WOW, I’m glad I caught that now instead of later.

I’d also say, start with a small step first, don’t try to change everything today. say, start with testing before meals and bed and keeping a log.

I’ve read that you only have to test twice a day (Medtronic pump)