Omnipod was just delievered.... switching from MM 722

Hello all,

I am new to Tudiabetes and this group. I’ve been using the MM 722 pump for the last 14ish years, and I’ve decided to switch to the Omnipod. My only concern is how the insertion site feels after the pod is on and cannula is placed. When you touch it, lean on it, or sleep on it, does it hurt? I’m scared to use my back because I sometimes sleep on my back… please be honest!

Thank you all- I am so happy to be part of this community!

Cara

My son says you don’t really feel it once it is in. Doesn’t bother him when he sleeps or plays.

It does bother him when it takes a direct hit when playing something like soccer. Even then, it only takes a minute to shake it off and then he is back to not feeling it.

Cara -

Wecome to the group! TU and welcome to the Podders! No worries, it really desnt feel like anything is there, unless you (like I often do) catch it on a door jam or something like that…sleep on it, it doesnt matter! I wear mine on my arm most often (just between the bicep and my shoulder) so I sleep on it almost every night, and I dont feel anything. I wear mine on the small of my back (extreme upper butt) sleep is not a problem, but my belt and my jeans rub against it all the time…so that isnt my favorite spot. Good luck with everythihg and PEACE!

Cara,

No worries at all!! I have it on my back right now! I lean on it, sleep on it, bump it, and no pain! Remember that it does insert w a needle, but the only thing that stays in is a tiny tiny tube. Therefore it doesn’t feel like a needle pricking you when you hit it, it doesn’t even feel like something is “in me”. Really, no worries friend! I was nervous about it too! They ONLY real issue I had, I had it on my arm one day, and when putting on a bra it got pulled by my strap and hurt! Really though, you will love it.