Pain from cgm

So I’m new to type 1 and I’m using libre 2, and yesterday I had to change it, but I am afraid I did something wrong because sometines it randomly hurts like something stinging me. Also the sensor is always 50 mg/dl or more wrong.

I don’t know what to do, should I change it? Should i wait and see if it stops?
Is there a correlation with the pain and wrong BG?

1 Like

Hey, welcome to TuD! Maybe somebody using Libre can chime in. I’ve had that happen with Dexcom CGM and with Omnipods over the years. Sometimes its from hitting a nerve or muscle and the pain gets worse, sometimes it subsides.

Seems like the accuracy is bad so you should call Abbott and ask them to send you a new sensor because this one is not accurate. And I would replace it if the accuracy does not improve, being off by 50 is pretty bad.

There is a learning curve to using a CGM. Everyone has different experiences depending on a whole host of factors. I would do nothing for a while to establish patterns. Is my CGM always reading higher or always lower than my finger sticks? Am I always high or always low for the first 24-48 hours after inserting a new sensor? Rely on your finger sticks until you build confidence in your CGM trends and what those trends mean. Trends are always way more important than any single data point. It takes a couple of months to feel totally comfortable with a CGM, for some a little less time and for others a little longer, Should I presoak sensor, etc.? are all questions and challenges you will learn how your body reacts to a particular sensor make, and model. We are all different, learn at different rates and for some of us our bodies are a lot more cooperative to a CGM than others. For everyone, however, a CGM does improves BG, A1C, TIR one baby step at a time over a very short period of time. Just be patient, stick with it and in a relatively short amount of time you will be seeing improvements.

1 Like