Philosophical question

I’ve been thinking about this and thought I would throw it out there. Do you have diabetes or are you a diabetic? What is the difference and does it matter? When you answer tell us how long since your diagnosis.

Happy New Year

It may be “just semantics” but I for one think how we talk about something affects how we think about it. I work in the mental health field where we always refer to someone as, for example “having schizophrenia” rather than “being a schizophrenic”. In the same way I think of myself as “having diabetes” rather than “being a diabetic”. Being a diabetic, to me, makes it too great a part of my identity; when it’s really only one thing about me. I was misdiagnosed type 2 in 7/07 and correctly diagnosed LADA in 3/09.

Great insight, Zoe, that is what I was looking for. I, however, have a slightly different perspective. The longer I go on, the more I realize that accepting diabetes as who I am helps me deal better with it and empowers me to own my decisions better. Also…I am currently waiting results of my antibody tests for LADA too.

I’m both. don’t really see a difference between the two. i’m a husband and I have a wife (or does she have me?)

type 2 dx july 1996

I use both interchangeably. Diabetes doesn’t define who I am, but it is an important part of my life. I do know of people who get very angry when someone refers to them as a diabetic. I don’t see the problem.

I hold it as being a " person with diabetes " …If you, Scott and others are holding "it " as " having diabetes or you are a diabetic " , so be it .
Managing or not managing the disease makes the difference .
27 years living with diabetes.

Fun question, Scott! Intriguing, too, because language is both incredibly powerful yet exasperatingly limited.