Price of Insulin

Hello, I’m new to this diabetes blogging but looking forward to meeting fellow diabetics!
I have just arrived in Whistler BC from New Zealand. Am here for a season on the mountain, yeehaaaaa! I am currently using Humalog and Lantus 3.0ml Cartridges for my pen. In NZ our medication was subsidised, I enquired about costs for the above and was told for 5 vials I am looking at $100 is this for real??? (How do you survive over here!!!) Anyway just wanted to check that this is the going rate, have brought enough over with me to last for a couple of months but would be interested to hear the best/most economical way to acquire my supplies. Look forward to hearing your thoughts :slight_smile:

I once paid $150.00 for a bottle of Humalog in New York City. We pay a small fortune for our health insurance, and that means about $10.00 a bottle for my co-pay.

Welcome to our part of the world! Canada, as I’m sure you are aware, has a national public health care program. I’m not familiar with what Canadians pay but I’d bet it’s less than what we Americans pay. Canada can sell American-made drugs to its citizens for less than what we pay for them!

I can’t offer much info to compare with what you were quoted as I pay for my insulin as part of a 90-day supply that includes test strips and insulin pump supplies. My co-pay for the entire package is $67. The mail-order pharmacy lists the full price of my Novolog 10 ml. vials at about $79 US dollars each.

With the health-care reform debate raging in the U.S., I’m curious what your diabetes medical costs are in New Zealand. What do you normally pay for your supplies and to see your diabetic doctor?

Have a great ski season! By the way, some of my fondest memories are from a ski trip I took to New Zealand in 1983. I skied near Mount Cook using a helicopter to some of the finest skiing I’ve ever done.

Good luck with securing your insulin supplies at a reasonable cost.