Pros and cons of Omni Pod or conventional insulin pump

I'm starting to do research on insulin pumps rather than using MDI. I've gathered from reading here that some people find the ability to make small adjustments the advantages of using the pump/pods over MDI.

What do people like/dislike about the tubeless omnipod vs "conventional" insulin pumps? Since I'm new to insulin dependent diabetes, MDI's, insulin...etc please forgive me if I'm asking questions that may seem "obvious".

There are so many conversations already existing on this very topic. Maybe you can read some of them. Also there is a group for the Omnipod here: http://www.tudiabetes.org/group/omnipodusers

I think this is a pretty good article for steps to pick a pump ( it is dated but it's still good adive ): http://www.diabetesforecast.org/2010/jan/4-steps-to-picking-the-bes...

In addition, there is a yearly consumer guide listing of all of the available pumps and their specifics. I'm not sure if any questions are "obvious", but I am sure they've been asked and answered again and again and again. Good luck on your research.

1 Like

One of my bosses had a sign on his office wall: "Don't be afraid to ask dumb questions, they're much easier to handle than dumb mistakes."

The truth is, there are no dumb questions (except the ones that don't get asked.) Questions like yours are precisely why this forum is here. And I predict that this thread will generate a wealth of good info for you.

Pump use and choices/preferences are very much an individual thing.
What is important to you may not matter to me, what I see as a deal breaker may be a big nothing for you.