Pump or No?

I've been doing shots since I was diagnosed. It's been almost 9 years. Should I make the switch to go a pump? I'm a lowly college student who is watching her budget. If it costs much more than Novolog and Lantus I won't be able to afford it. I earnestly want to improve my health.

Pumps are pretty expensive but I love mine. I didn't get it until I was 37 and, well, had attained a certain degree of affluence. I hadn't paid attention to the bills that much lately but looked at one and was like "%$#@!, that's expensive!" I'm less stressed out about diabetes and think that it made diabetes less work for me. I was a total diabetes slacker before I got the pump but had been ignorant of innovative concepts like carb counting before I did that so it's possible that improvements I've made in A1C are as much from carb counting as from pumping but the fine-tuning of doses and precise data recording a pump allows are definitely benefits if you can afford it.

The only way to find out about the total pump cost is from your insurance company. And that can be a royal pain! I think pumping is *usually* more expensive than shots. But in my case that's not true. I am on the omnipod and my insurance covers both the pump system (pdm and pods) and my test strips at 100% under DME. If you decide on a pump, you can have them touch base with your insurance company and figure it all out. They will have to tell you how much you can expect the cost to be before you actually sign up for the pump. Good luck!

I did shots for a few years after diagnosis only because I resisted the whole tubed pump concept. My A1c has been pretty nicely lowered with the pump and my whole eating experience has returned to something somewhat normal, meaning I don't have to excuse myself to find somewhere private to lift up my clothes and inject, then find somewhere to stash the pen needle until I get home, etc.