Pump Vacation?

Hello everyone
I have been wearing a pump for almost 12 years without a single day where it has not been attached to me. I consider it part of me.
But I feel like I'd like to try a mini vacation or even consider the option of doing Lantus and say good bye to my pump.
I only need 12.7 units the whole day and run so controlled I don't even need to bolus. So my question is how much should I give like 10 units and cross my fingers? I am SO nervous to inject my last experience on shots riddled me with panic attacks and anxiety. For those of you who used to take NPH might know what I am talking about!
I would love to hear anyone else opinion or experience with Basel rates vs. long acting doses.
Much love to the community... may our hearts be even sweeter than our blood ;-)

hi Ali, I've never done it myself, but here's some discussions here about it:
https://forum.tudiabetes.org/topics/pump-vacation
https://forum.tudiabetes.org/topics/pump-vacation-need-advice-on
http://www.tudiabetes.org/profiles/blogs/pump-vacation
http://www.tudiabetes.org/profiles/blogs/unexpected-pump-vacation
https://forum.tudiabetes.org/topics/would-you-take-a-pump-vacation-if-you-were-me

I did it once (and quite enjoyed it). Here is my blog post about it.

I did a split Lantus dose (twice per day) with a bit more than half my total basal in the morning and a bit less than half my total basal in the evening. You should check the basal amount with an endo/CDE, but should be fine :)

just curious, how can you not have to bolus? do you eat carbs? even those who do very low carbs have to bolus, protein will turn into glucose, eventually. do you correct? are you pumping 12.7 units of basal via pump?

Sarah