Pump VS Multiple Daily Injections During Pregnancy

I am new to insulin and am currently TTC my second child, I am currently on humalog and levemir very small doses (only 2 units levemir and 10:1 carb ratio humalog) and am wondering if I should transfer to a pump before becoming pregnant.
What was your experience? Did you use a pump or MDIs during pregnancy?

Hi! I will be honest, I could not have gotten through pregnancy without my pump… there are so many days when your blood sugar will just be wacky for no apparent reason and adjusting the basal rates with the pump is very helpful. I starting using the pump 6 months before I got pregnant so I was able to get used to it… chose the Animas one touch ping and was very happy with it. Take care, Kris

I used a Medtronic Paradigm 722 for my first pregnancy, then went back to injections for the past year and planning to go back on the pump when we start TTC in the next few months. I agree completely with Kristina. For me, pregnancy with diabetes was made much easier thanks to the pump and the daily modifications I could make.

It is true that every woman and every pregnancy is different but it seems to be very common for women to switch to the pump when TTC. If your insurance will cover it, I definitely recommend it.

Best of luck in whatever you choose!

Hi! I was pumping for about 2 years before getting pregnant. I was on Lantus and humulog shots before then and was doing o.k but he pump changed my life. I’m about 26 week pregnant now and LITERALLY cannot even imagine having to control my blood sugars with shots alone. My insulin needs have skyrocketed yet my A1c’s have not gone past 6.4 since being pregnant and thats thanks to how easily changes can be made. MY endo looks at my logs, does some calculations, I put it in the pump and I’m ready to roll. I would highly reccomend getting on the pump before getting pregnant that way you can get use to it a little bit. It’s a lifesaver!

Hi -