Question about Tresiba

During my last check up my doctor was concerned about my A1c being 4.8 because he thought I was having low blood sugars. Which I really have not had in any serious way, but I have gotten into the low 60s and high 50s on several occasions.

I have been using Lantus as my basal insulin for about six years. He switched me to Tresiba because it is less likely to cause lows.

I’ve been using Tresiba for about a week now and I absolutely love how it works. Even when I know I should have eaten and am probably low I find that my meter shows a much higher number than I anticipated.

I am finding that my FSB has been below 100 consistently. I’m also finding that when I bolus with my Humalog as I have been doing all along, it turns out to be a bit too much. I decided to reduce my Tresiba dosage by two units today. I will see if this makes any difference.

So here is my question. Has anyone else experienced increased insulin sensitivity when using Tresiba?

Last year, for four months, I went from a pump to MDI of Tresiba + Apidra. My Tresiba dose went up by 5 units/day versus the pump delivered 14 units. My I:C ratios did not change and my Apridra doses were about the same across the transition. One complicating factor with me, however, is that I also used Afrezza to whack-a-mole emerging highs. All in all my sense was that my meal and correction insulin dosing did not change much going from pump to MDI.

Are you satisfied that your Tresiba dose is not subsidizing the bolus doses?

I’m really not sure what exactly if anything is going on. The first two or three days nothing seemed really different. In fact, it seemed like my fasting numbers were a little higher. But I had been doing some food experimenting about that time.