Random expiration alarms

Have any of you had a random expiration alarm? I am almost completely certain that my pod wasn’t to be changed until the evening. Well, I usually keep the change at night so that it will just be easier with my schedule. The batteries on the PDM were low when I woke up one morning and I went ahead and checked my BG and bolused for breakfast and had an extended bolus. All of a sudden I had an alarm that my pod had expired and I had to change it. I’m fairly new with the pod so is this something that any of you have experienced? I just thought it was strange. I hadn’t gone over my insulin that had been injected into the pod and I really think if it had been giving me an alarm all night to change the pod that I would have awakened. Anyway, Insulet says they haven’t heard of this…or at least my rep hasn’t. Insight?

Yes, it has happened to me… It just failed. I am traveling and it has happened again. When I get back to my home, early Sept, I will contact Insulet to replace the failed pod. This particulat instance, I had changed it the night before…

Yes, Chris -
This has happened to me COUNTLESS times! No unusual at all. (aggravating, yes. but not terriibly unusual). When it happens to me, I just go ahead and change the pod…no use calling in to Insulet as you have experienced! Just suck it up and move ahead! Good luck and PEACE!

Hi CC…the pod is not thinking it is time for a pod change, you have just had a pod failure or an occlusion…the insulin dosing has stopped for some reason. I have had it happen when I have bumped it, when the site has become inflamed, or for whatever unknown reason. Sometimes it seems to happen more frequently with a certain box of the product, and some people have had more than their fair share of pod failures, but over all it is unusual. If it happens when you are filling the pod, Insulet will replace it.