Seizers

Hello… I am new to tudiabetes. I joined hoping for support in dealing with my husbands diabetes. He is 33 and has had type 1 since he was 15 yrs old. I worry that he has become too comfortable with his diabetes. He has a seizer in the middle of the night Saturday 11/01/08. It was the first time that this has ever happened and the first time I have ever seen anything like this. It was very scary. I called 911 and tried to calm him down. Of course everything is fine and he even went to work as if nothing happened. I know it bothers him but he hides it. It worries me because I am unaware of how serious and common this is. I suggested calling his doctor but he said he isn’t going to bc he has an appt on the 21st of this month anyway. He said it was just a low spell and he is fine. I am looking for some advise in this matter. Should I call his doctor or make him make an appointment sooner than the 21st. He seems fine but the incident has really scared me. He tends to think that I over worry. I am not allowed to let any of our friends and family know about htis bc he doesn’t want anyone freaking out or looking at him as a handicap. I need support and advice from somewhere. Any suggestions or advice is much appreciated. Thank you.

Hi, Parris. Welcome to our community. You’re going to get a lot of great responses here that will help you, hopefully!

I understand where your husband is coming from on several counts. For one, after recovering from a low, he is probably fine. I hate when people see me dealing with a low and then days later ask me if I’m feeling better now. I always stare blankly for a moment trying to figure out what they’re talking about and then say something like, “Oh, yeah, I’m sorry. I’m fine right now. I’ve had four lows since then! They happen quickly and pass quickly. That’s a day in the life of a diabetic.” So if it was “just a low spell,” I can understand him wanting to put the mess behind him.

BUT